You are here:

HomeNewsAwards‘The Boy Who Gave His Heart Away’ wins gold!
TBI Media win at ARIAS 2016
‘The Boy Who Gave His Heart Away’ wins gold!
20 0

Posted by  in Awards

Last night the audio and radio industry gathered for the first ever ARIAS. The awards replaced the Radio Academy Sony Awards which ended in 2014.

Going into the evening, TBI Media were nominated for two awards. Firstly, our Radio 4 series ‘The Boy Who Gave His Heart Away’ was nominated in the ‘Audio Moment of the Year’ category and the TBI team were nominated for the ‘Radio Academy Award’, which recognises outstanding contribution to the audio industry in the last 12 months.

We were lucky enough to win gold for ‘The Boy Who Gave His Heart Away’, an outstanding achievement given the other broadcast moments up for the award. The programme aired in June and told the story of two boys, both of whom fell ill in the summer of 2003. For the family of Martin it was the worst possible news, but out of their tragedy came something miraculous. The family agreed for Martin’s organs to be donated and, in this five-part series, we reunited his family with some of those who benefited. We would like to say a special thank you to programmes presenter Cole Moreton, producer Jonathan Mayo, engineer Micky Curling and Exec producer Phil Critchlow.

Finally, we would like to congratulate all our partners who were winners last night including BBC Radio 2 and BBC Radio 4. A full list of winners can be found below.

The Audio and Radio Industry Awards 2016

Best News Coverage

GOLD:            The Buncrana Pier Tragedy – BBC Radio Foyle

SILVER:         A New Life in Europe: The Dhnie Family – BBC Radio 4

BRONZE:       PM: Jo Cox’s Murder – BBC Radio 4

Best Entertainment Production

GOLD:            Greg James – BBC Radio 1
SILVER:         The Christian O’Connell Breakfast Show – Absolute Radio
BRONZE:       The Pin – BBC Radio 4

 Best Audio Dramatisation

GOLD:            Lament – BBC Radio Drama London for Radio 4
SILVER:          Cuttin’ It – BBC Radio Drama London for Radio 4
BRONZE:        BBC Radio Merseyside

Best National Speech Breakfast Show
GOLD:             Today – BBC Radio 4
SILVER:          5 Live Breakfast – BBC Radio 5 Live
BRONZE:        Good Morning Scotland – BBC Radio Scotland

Best Local Breakfast Show

GOLD:             Georgey at Breakfast – BBC Radio York
SILVER:          Sam and Amy – Gem
BRONZE:        Morgan in the Morning – BBC Radio Stoke

Best National Music Breakfast Show

GOLD:            The Chris Evans Breakfast Show – BBC Radio 2

SILVER:         The Christian O’Connell Breakfast Show – Absolute Radio

BRONZE:       Emily Segal – heat Radio

Best Sports Show

GOLD:            606 – Shooting Shark Productions for BBC Radio 5 Live

SILVER:          Boro Are Back! – BBC Tees

BRONZE:        5 live Sport – BBC Radio 5 live

Best Digital Audio Service

GOLD:             audioBoom

SILVER:          Live @ Wimbledon Radio – IMG Radio on behalf of the All England Lawn Tennis Club

BRONZE:        Acast

Podcast of the Year

GOLD:             The Story of Izzy Dix – BBC Newsbeat

SILVER:          The Modern Mann – Rethink Audio

BRONZE:        Storytime with Boon – This Is Distorted

Best Digital Innovation

GOLD:             The BBC iPlayer Radio App

SILVER:          BBC Radio 2 Country

BRONZE:         Acast

Audio Moment of the Year

GOLD:             The Boy Who Gave His Heart Away – TBI Media for BBC Radio 4

SILVER:          Where are you going New York, Loftus Media for BBC World Service

BRONZE:        The Archers: Helen Stabs Rob – BBC Radio Drama Birmingham for Radio 4

The Radio Academy Award

Sound Digital for D2

Speech Broadcaster of the Year

GOLD:             Stephen Nolan – BBC Radio Ulster and BBC Radio 5 Live

SILVER:          Kirsty Young – Desert Island Discs, BBC Radio 4

BRONZE:        Nihal – BBC Asian Network

Music Broadcaster of the Year

GOLD:             MistaJam – BBC Radio 1Xtra

SILVER:          Jamie Cullum – Folded Wing for BBC Radio 2

BRONZE:        Stephen McCauley – BBC Radio Foyle

Best Local Station

GOLD:             Hallam FM

SILVER:          Forth 1

BRONZE:        BBC Essex

Best National Station

GOLD:             BBC Radio 2

SILVER:          BBC Radio 1Xtra

BRONZE:        Absolute Radio